Healthy No-Bake Peanut Butter Cookies

By Erin Batty {Guest}

My love for travelling ultimately lead me to living abroad, which of course is absolutely amazing and I would recommend it to anyone; however it does come with it’s set of challenges and for me the most disheartening at times are the ones involving food. Living with food allergies and a tendency to consume a lot in a day (oops) has lead to my paranoia of somehow ending up stranded with nothing to eat… It’s a real fear. Anyone who knows me, knows that when I need food I really need food. Like really really! I have almost always kept snacks in my purse when on the go and I was even known to keep sweets in the glovebox of my car at home for when I was desperate.

When you live in another country the struggle becomes even more real because a) you may not understand the ingredients listed on foods you buy and b) the foods you were used to eating at home may not be available to you. These both have indeed happened to me while living in Korea, which is why I have learned it is always best to make things yourself so that you know %100 what you’re putting in your body and that you’re nourishing yourself as best you can, especially when stuck in situations that may involve you being left hungry without many options.

These raw peanut butter cookies satisfy in more ways than one. They’re quick and easy to make, use very few ingredients, are easy to throw in your bag when out and about, and are seriously yummy! If you love peanut butter, you will love these cookies. They’re a delicious snack that’s gluten free, sugar free, vegan, and also includes some beneficial protein and fibre to sustain you if you’re at all like me and will turn into someone completely different if you’re deprived of food. If you aren’t like me, these cookies still make a great dessert and would be great to take on a picnic or hike. If you can’t eat peanut butter feel free to sub with almond butter or even a nut free butter like sunflower seed. If you prefer your cookies to be sweeter, reduce the peanut butter by up to one tablespoon and replace it with an equal amount of maple syrup or another liquid sweetener.

IMG_4767


IMG_4765


IMG_4768


In a food processor, process your dates until blended down into a sticky ball. Remove. Add oats and process for about 30 seconds or until a rough flour forms. Add back in dates, peanut butter, vanilla and sea salt. Process until combined. Remove from processor and add cacao nibs/chopped peanuts/chocolate chips. Mix by hand. Squeeze about 2 tablespoons into a ball and flatten. Store sealed at room temperature. I’d say these are best eaten within 1-2 days although they’ve never lasted that long around me! 😉

Recipe:

3/4 cup + 1 tablespoon gluten free oats

1/2 cup packed, pitted dates

1/3 cup natural peanut butter*

2 teaspoons vanilla

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

(optional) 1 tablespoon cacao nibs, chopped peanuts, or chocolate chips

Makes approximately 10 small cookies.


 

*Note: Be aware that if you use store-bought peanut butter that contains ingredients other than peanuts, you will end up with a much sweeter cookie and will likely have to reduce the amount used since it’s much more moist than the natural kind.

Enjoy! xo


Erin Batty is the creator of www.battycake.com, an all gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan friendly blog about navigating the world abroad with food allergies and how to do so deliciously, one recipe at a time. Currently located in Seoul, South Korea, you can creep her Facebook  or Instagram @batty_cake, for more delicious treats!

Leave a comment